Engineering a New World

Something Can Be Done About It

Our 10th Christmas Together

My wife and I just had our tenth Christmas together!  It’s not a silver anniversary, a bronze anniversary, or even a carbon graphite anniversary or a lightweight high-tensile titanium anniversary, but still something I’m quite proud of.  Especially since my wife & I still get mistaken for high-schoolers!
Wife & I by the Griffith Observatory

This Christmas was spent in Los Angeles  – a significant difference from the proper frigid north that we’re used to — my having grown up in the beautiful state of Maine.

Our first Christmas as an engaged couple back in ’99  (pictured below) was a lot more like it – a biting 10 degrees out, crystal clear.  No snow (unusually) but still cold enough to give you a proper red nose.

Harper's Ferry West Virginia at Christmas

The above photo was taken in Harper’s Ferry, Virginia — an hour or so outside of Washington, D.C.

Hopefully, in the photo I’m able to produce for our upcoming 20th Christmas, we’ll look just as much like little kids as we do here.

Anniversaries are wonderful opportunities to look back over life and determine what you did that was good, and what you’ve done that you’d like to change for the future.  But for things like this, I’m right now tempted to look at what went right, as my wife and I are probably about 10x better friends now than we were when that Harper’s Ferry photo was taken.

You log on to your MSN home page or Yahoo portal, and just about every day there’s a new article blathering on about how “…statistically speaking, it’s actually official that couples will lose all interest in one another by the time they’re together for 3 years, and will statistically start trying to have an affair by the time they’ve been married for 5.  So, if you’re really unethical with your relationship, it’s perfectly normal!”

I just think that’s a load of BS, statistically speaking.

Communication is the single thing I’d have to say has made my marriage wonderful, and is the magic ingredient I’ve noted in just about every other couple I’ve known as well, which has stayed together through thick and thin.   It’s most effusively and effectively communicated, I think, in a lecture by  L. Ron Hubbard in the State of Man Congress lectures, entitled “Marriage” which I think sums it up better than anything.  It’s all about communicating and having an association with your partner which is entirely bereft of “withholds” — a Scientology term for things you’ve done that you don’t want to talk about.

It may be uncomfortable sometimes, but communicating and talking about even those things that you don’t want to say has saved my marriage more times than I can count.

As such, I’m positive I have a formula that will most assuredly be producing another photo 10 years from now, and another 10 and 10 from that.

6 comments on “Our 10th Christmas Together

  1. Grahame
    December 26, 2008

    Congratulations!

    You make a great couple.

    I totally agree with you on the importance of communication. My wife and I have been together for 16 years and have never had an argument because we are both trained in Scientology and so understand how to handle issues that come up without resorting to yelling, etc.

    Congratulations again and I look forward to the pictures on your 20th.

  2. richard
    December 27, 2008

    These photos rock and as for the commentary I couldn’t agree more. I look forward to seeing the photos of you two 10 years from now. Those I’m certain will be quite something!

  3. Michael Hodgson
    December 27, 2008

    M postulates are with you that your marriage is as string as SiAlON [Google it, and select the first result].

    ARC Michael

  4. turbotad
    December 27, 2008

    Thanks guys, and thanks Mick. SiAlON sounds like just the thing, thanks for the link. As any husband can tell you, having good “thermal shock resistance” is a property you’ve definitely got to have!

  5. amy hanses
    April 10, 2009

    Tad, I totally agree. I just got married and have utilized communication to handle anything that’s come up, and I am very much in love. 😉 I like your photos.

  6. Pingback: Keeping a Marriage Together | Scientology Parent

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2008 by in scientology and tagged , , , , .
