Engineering a New World

Something Can Be Done About It

Will It Blend? – iPod

I’ve got an old web server that I think I’m going to give them for this show.

4 comments on “

  1. Grahame
    February 19, 2008

    ROFL! I’ve got an old bicycle they could try!

  2. John Davis
    February 23, 2008

    What an incredibly stupid waste!

    Why on Earth did you post it?

    Did you think it amusing?

    John Davis

  3. jetteroheller
    February 24, 2008

    John –

    Why did I post this? A few reasons.

    (a) Due to the fact that it WAS a stupid waste, that makes it all the more funny – because you can reject it.

    (b) I think this is a positively BRILLIANT piece of YouTube marketing. Really. Go to their YouTube channel page, and click on their “willitblend.com” URL. They make clear the fact that the blender pictured in their preposterous ads is the bottom-of-the-line model, and if you want to see a REAL blender, then check out their big commercial models.

    I think it’s a brilliant use of the medium to get people interested in the product.

  4. John Davis
    March 3, 2008

    Jettero,

    I just noticed your reply. As much as I usually find so much to agree with in your ideas, I’m afraid, I must beg to disagree. I understand that something has to be destroyed to make another thing – “You can’t make an omelet without breaking eggs,” but “blending” an iPod doesn’t result in the creation of anything.

    Just a small pile of rubble.

    It kind of reminds me of the “piano smashing” contests they used to have in England.

    Of course, that ends up in a bigger pile of rubble.

    On the other hand, I don’t have any good suggestions for how to market blenders, I’m afraid. Some things are difficult to advertise.

    I was in Australia years ago, and there was a very strange commercial on TV. Around a very British looking dining table, there was a bunch of aunties and uncles and very staid looking people, stirring tea and making polite “conversation” about the weather, when the man of the house, much to the embarrassment of his missus, jumped up and exclaimed, “I gotta poo!” and left the room.

    While his wife was sitting with her head in her hands, wishing she was ANYWHERE but there, a small voice called from “offstage,” “I did it!”

    It was an ad for – guess what?

    Toilet paper!

    Now there’s something that’s difficult to advertise!

    Yours sincerely,

    John Davis

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2008 by in L. Ron Hubbard.
