Engineering a New World

Something Can Be Done About It

World’s Tallest Billboard? 30-story Transformers billboard in Hollywood

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Googling around, I could find a 1km long billboard in Kuwait being touted as the world’s largest billboard, but couldn’t find anything taller than this one. This is an entire building under construction at Sunset & Vine in Hollywood, which has been covered in its entirety by an advertisement for the Transformers Movie.

Personally, I think it’s damn impressive, and it has nothing whatever to do with the fact that I was an avid Transformers fan as a little kid, and can of course still sing the Transformers theme song verbatim.

Personally, I think it’s a brilliant advertising piece. I think immediately of L. Ron Hubbard‘s brilliant text from the Scientology administrative volumes called Marketing Posters, where he says,

“A totally effective poster stands all by itself without needing any words.”

“The ideal poster is something which you just paint without any captions or illustrations and people will see it and interpret it at once. That is the ideal poster.” — LRH

That bulding has an enormous Megatron on the east side of the building which at night has an ominous 2-story glowing red eye. It’s impinging.

technorati tags:, , ,

Blogged with Flock

5 comments on “World’s Tallest Billboard? 30-story Transformers billboard in Hollywood

  1. grahamesd
    June 16, 2007

    I saw this picture on another blog. I love the perspective.

  2. jetteroheller
    June 16, 2007

    I actually just took this one as the first outdoor use of my new .42x wide-angle attachment for my Minolta Z2. It is so handy – I love it. The camera itself has a 380mm zoom on it, which I NEVER use without a tripod, so the wide-angle lens makes the camera so much more versatile. I literally was standing right at the base of that building and was able to get the whole thing in the frame no problem.

  3. Pingback: Humungous banner ads coming to YouTube? » VentureBeat

  4. MigeSciexia
    October 23, 2008

    There was this guy see.
    He wasn’t very bright and he reached his adult life without ever having learned “the facts”.
    Somehow, it gets to be his wedding day.
    While he is walking down the isle, his father tugs his sleeve and says,

    “Son, when you get to the hotel room…Call me”

    Hours later he gets to the hotel room with his beautiful blushing bride and he calls his father,

    “Dad, we are the hotel, what do I do?”

    “O.K. Son, listen up, take off your clothes and get in the bed, then she should take off her clothes and get in the bed, if not help her. Then either way, ah, call me”

    A few moments later…

    “Dad we took off our clothes and we are in the bed, what do I do?”

    O.K. Son, listen up. Move real close to her and she should move real close to you, and then… Ah, call me.”

    A few moments later…

    “DAD! WE TOOK OFF OUR CLOTHES, GOT IN THE BED AND MOVED REAL CLOSE, WHAT DO I DO???”

    “O.K. Son, Listen up, this is the most important part. Stick the long part of your body into the place where she goes to the bathroom.”

    A few moments later…

    “Dad, I’ve got my foot in the toilet, what do I do?”

  5. turbotad
    October 24, 2008

    I’m actually not sure what that has to do with this post about wide-angle lenses and the world’s tallest billboard. But, it’s entertaining, so I’ll let it stand. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2007 by in scientology, technology.
